national merit finalists

PULASKI COUNTY, Ark. -- Two high school seniors from the Pulaski County Special School District have advanced as finalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (MNSC) announced Eva Casto from Maumelle High and Carter Watson from Sylvan Hills High among the top one-percent of U.S. high school graduating seniors.

Eva has a 4.357 GPA and scored a 36 on her ACT, a perfect score, in January 2020! She is involved in the Maumelle City Youth Council, volunteers with the Arkansas Food Bank, and attended the 2021 Arkansas Governor’s School. She also founded the Maumelle High ACT prep/tutoring club and is a member of the Maumelle High Band and the National Honor Society Vice President.

Carter has a 4.375 GPA and scored a 35 on his ACT. He is on the varsity baseball team, president of the BETA Club, Student Council, and the National Honor Society. He plans to attend the University of Arkansas and major in mechanical engineering in the fall. 

These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. Over 90-percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and more than half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title.

Congratulations Eva and Carter!