eva casto carter watson

PULASKI COUNTY, Ark. -- The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC®) announced its 2022 semifinalists this week and two Pulaski County Special School District were among this group of scholars - Eva Casto, senior at Maumelle High, and Carter Watson, senior at Sylvan Hills High.

“Being named a National Merit Semifinalist goes beyond one test and speaks directly to the hard work, dedication, drive, and great teachers Eva has utilized to propel her in her studies,” said Maumelle High principal Jason Young. “I am very proud to be her principal and to have the opportunity to share in this amazing experience and I know that she will be successful in whatever career path she chooses.”

“Carter is worthy of this recognition as he is a highly skilled student with impeccable grades and scores on the ACT and PSAT assessments,” said Sylvan Hills High principal Tracy Allen. “Carter is a wonderful ambassador for Sylvan Hills High School and the Sherwood community.”

There are 16,000 National Merit Scholarship Program semifinalists from across the country. This pool represents less than 1-percent of U.S. high school seniors. Finalists for the 2022 National Merit Scholarships will be announced in February with the winners announced beginning in April